I feel sorry for Julia Gillard

Julia Gillard is no longer the Prime Minister of Australia and I can’t help but feel sorry for her. I honestly believe her gender played a role in her downfall. 

Just yesterday she was dealing with backlash from a photo of her knitting. Knitting! After facing years of jokes of about her lack of femininity she starts getting crap for knitting.

Image

The offending photo of Julia Gillard from Women’s Weekly

I am disappointed that the leadership of Australia’s first female Prime Minister had to end with her being overthrown by her own party. I know that’s how she came into the leadership in the first place but still. 

Although I didn’t always agree with her policies, I did admire her strength and determination. 

I hope that history will look on her more favourably than we do now.

Leave a Reply

